logo for the League of Women Voters of Johnson County

General Election:  November 7, 2017

Visit the Jo Co Election Office for the complete list of candidates for the 2017 races

All local races are nonpartisan

Apply for an advance mail-in ballot.

Advance voting in person at six locations begins October 30, 2017.


Election of Mayor and/or council members:

Bonner Springs, De Soto, Edgerton, Fairway, Gardner, Lake Quivira, Leawood, Lenexa, Merriam, Mission, Mission Hills, Mission Woods, Olathe, Overland Park, Prairie Village, Roeland Park, Shawnee, Spring Hill, Westwood, and Westwood Hills

School Boards:

Blue Valley, Spring Hill, Gardner Edgerton, DeSoto, Olathe, Wellsville, Eudora, and Shawnee Mission

Board of Trustees:

Johnson County Community College

Board of Water District #1:

Position 3, 4, and 5


Johnson County Election Office


Use the election office website to check your voter registration, confirm your polling place, learn what districts you live in, the names of your representatives, and view the list of candidates for upcoming elections. You may also view a sample ballot, which is posted 20 days prior to an election.

  • Johnson County Kansas Election Office
  • Find your Legislator View the roster of Senate and House elected officials at the Kansas Statehouse
  • Do you vote a paper ballot? In the November 2016 election,  2,873 paper ballots were not counted in Johnson County. Of these, 1,626 persons were not registered. Some ballots were not accepted due to problems with the return envelope, such as the envelope was not signed or signature did not match the one on file, incomplete information, photo ID was not shown to election worker, or voter had already voted. See a sample return envelope for guidance.