logo for the League of Women Voters of Johnson County

Making Democracy Work Award

Nomination deadline: Oct. 25, 2019

The Johnson County League of Women Voters invites you to nominate an outstanding community member for our 2019 Making Democracy Work Award. The League created the award in 2008 as a way to recognize and celebrate citizens who demonstrate committed, visionary leadership that strengthens our democracy.

With this award, we wish to honor an individual or group who has taken action to “Make Democracy Work” to benefit residents in Johnson and/or Wyandotte counties. The nominee need not reside in Kansas.



An honoree’s work or action must:

  • Clearly demonstrate democracy at work.
  • Be innovative and unique.
  • Encourage active, informed citizenship within the community.
  • Be nonpartisan.
  • Be able to be replicated.

Nominations are open to any individual whose contributions meet these criteria. People may nominate themselves or others they think are deserving. 

Submit nominations by Oct. 25, 2019

Download form. Email the completed form to Lynn Hardy or turn it in at the Oct. 6 meeting.


Submit nomination online.


Recipients of the Making Democracy Work award:

  • 2008: Carol Sader, former Kansas State Representative
  • 2009: Ruth Hopkins, Prairie Village city council member
  • 2010:  Congressman Dennis Moore, Kansas 3rd District
  • 2011:  Annabeth Surbaugh, former chair Board of County Commissioners
  • 2012:  Dolores Furtado, Ph.D., former Kansas State Representative
  • 2013:  John Vratil, retired member of the Kansas Senate
  • 2014:  Brian Newby, Johnson County Election Commissioner
  • 2015:  Ed Peterson, former Johnson County Commissioner
  • 2016:  Dave Helling, Kansas City Star columnist and editorial writer
  • 2017:  Tracy Fuller Forbush, Citizen Program Manager at Catholic Charities of Northeast Kansas
  • 2019:  Mike Kelly, Roeland Park Mayor and Lindsey Constance, Shawnee City Council Member
  • 2019:  Rosehill School Third-Grade teachers Meghan Spalding. Lauren Langhofer and Rachel Serna