logo for the League of Women Voters of Johnson County

A year of a general election meant LWVJoCo sponsored a large number of informative and engaging programs for its members and the voting public.

photo of three people at a tableNovember 5, 2016: Juvenile Justice: Corrective or Punitive?
The speakers were Betsy Gillespie (director, JoCo Corrections), Representative John Rubin, and

Judge Thomas Foster (JoCo District Court-Juvenile Docket). Watch video on YouTube: Part One and Part Two

October 1, 2016: Money, Money, Money; Buying Democracy

Panel included: Mark P. Johnson (Partner, Dentons, US, LLP and lecturer, KU Schools of Law and Journalism),

Clay Barker (executive director, Kansas Republican Party), Joan Wagnon (former chair of Kansas Democratic Party). Watch video on YouTube

September 10, 2016: Kansas Judiciary: Selection, Retention, Issues

The speakers were Paul Davis (attorney and former Kansas House Minority Leader), Dan Biles (Justice, KS Supreme Court), Karen Arnold-Burger (Judge, KS Court of Appeals), and Kelly Ryan (Judge, Johnson County District Court). View panel presentation. Part Two: Q and A.  Or read the answers.

May 7, 2016: Annual Meeting

photo of Ann Norbury and Susan Horst with Dan HellingOur League end-of-year annual meeting was attended by over 100 members and honored  guests. We presented the ‘Making Democracy  Work’  award  to  Dave  Helling,  Kansas  City Star columnist. He spoke of the importance of voting and making the voting process more uniform and easier for voters.

Two high school seniors received scholarships for their submissions to our ‘Activism Through Arts’ program. Diane Tejeda won first place for her essay. Emma Arnold received an honorable mention for her painting.

We recognized our 50-year members with certificates. The co-presidents presented the ‘Above and Beyond’ awards to Kathy Jennings for membership growth and to Ellen Miller for guiding our 2016- 2020 Long Range Plan.

April 2, 2016: Three Ways to Vote


Watch the video

March 5, 2016: Poverty in Johnson County


  • Karen Wulfkuhle, Executive Director of United Community Services of Johnson
  • Paula Neth, Vice President of Programs at The Family Conservancy.
  • Judge Keven O’Grady, Johnson County District Court Help Center
  • Judge Timothy McCarthy, Veteran’s

 Watch video

February 6, 2016:

Lee Kellenberger and Heather Schmidt of the Johnson County Stormwater Management Program Watch video